VSL Big Bang Orchestra: Zodiac

Orchestral Ensembles Virtual Instrument

Sale ends in:
  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • Regular price $375.00
    Manually Processed

    Sent by a human, normally it's very quick!
    But sometimes it can take up to 24 hours.

    Digital Product - Delivered via Email.
    More Info
AAX Native - Compatible with Pro Tools 11 and above
AudioUnits Format VST2 Format
Free iLok account required, USB dongle optional
MacOS Logo
Windows Logo

Supermassive Ensembles

Big Bang Orchestra: Zodiac marks the daring finale of our monumental series. With 112 string players alone, the massive sound of its oversized ensembles makes for a bold statement that elevates and enriches your arrangements with epic breadth and power.

The collection includes seven ensembles:

  • First violins – 30 players
  • Second violins – 26 players
  • Violas – 20 players
  • Cellos – 22 players
  • Basses – 14 players
  • Horns – 12 players
  • Trombones – 9 players

Recording these very large string sections is not so much about volume – they deliver an especially lush and smooth sound that adds a beautiful warmth to your tracks. Likewise, the horns offer round and somber tones at lower volume levels. What’s really mind-blowing is the extremely powerful and blaring fortefortissimo of 12 horn players on the edge of what’s possible on their instruments. Similarly, the raw and powerful ensemble of nine trombones offers an extra fortefortissimo layer, too – not for the faint of heart!

Each of BBO: Zodiac's ensembles was recorded separately at our own scoring stage, Synchron Stage Vienna, with a multitude of close and mid microphones, Decca Tree, as well as surround and high surround mics. The included mixer presets deliver a perfectly engineered sound out-of-the-box that integrates seamlessly with all the other modules of the Big Bang Orchestra series.

BBO: Zodiac also includes combinations of several individual sections within one powerful preset, even with polyphonic legato. "All Strings" features all five string sections playing together, either with the original voicing layered over a six-octave span, or with condensed voicing over a four-octave span. Octave combinations provide two ensembles playing in octaves, such as first and second violins, violas and cellos, cellos and basses, etc. The "Epic Legato Combo" features the horn, viola, and cello sections with two additional clarinets, all performing legatos together. The exceptionally broad and smooth blend of these specific ensembles as well as the live character of the note transitions makes this patch excel at epic melodies.


Articulations of the string ensembles include short notes (bold and agile), long notes and legatos with regular and soft releases played unerringly by the musicians to create beautifully articulated note fade-outs, sforzato, sforzatissimo, and tremolos. Additional articulations of the brass patches include the separately available blaring fortefortissimo layer, short and long swells, as well as fast and slow horn rips.

Microphone Setup

  • Main (Decca tree stereo)
  • Main (Decca tree center)
  • Main surround stereo
  • High stereo
  • High surround stereo
  • Mid microphones
  • Solo/Close microphones
  • Back microphones

Download File Size: 22.5 GB
Installed File Size: 46.6 GB

System Requirements

  • MacOS 10.13 High Sierra and above
  • Windows 8.1 and above (64-bit only)
  • Intel Core i3 / AMD Athlon 64 X2 CPU or better
  • 8GB RAM or more (16GB or more recommended)
  • 46GB free storage space
  • Free iLok account and iLok License Manager
  • iLok Cloud and iLok USB licensing methods are supported

Plugin Formats

AAX Native, AU, VST2